An assault conviction carries tough penalties in Arizona. If you are facing assault charges, it is in your best interests to get an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side. Call Scott David Stewart today for the dedicated legal representation you need.

Why Choose Us?

  • The lawyer you choose to represent you can make all the difference in the outcome of your case. At Scott David Stewart in Surprise, Arizona, we have helped thousands of clients fight criminal charges.
  • We have fought all types of assault charges, from the least to the most serious, with a history of success for our clients.
  • Our attorneys are all former prosecutors, and we know how the other side works. This gives us an edge in our defense against assault and other criminal charges.

How Is Assault Defined in Arizona?

Simple assault (as compared to aggravated assault) in our state is defined as:

  • Knowingly or recklessly causing physical injury to another person;
  • Intentionally causing another person to reasonably fear imminent bodily harm; or
  • Knowingly touching another person with the intent to injure, insult, or provoke.

Assault is a domestic violence crime when it occurs between spouses or former spouses or people who live together or have a romantic or sexual relationship.

Classes of Misdemeanor Assault

There are three categories of misdemeanor assault under Arizona Revised Statutes Section 13-1203.

Class Three Misdemeanor Assault

Class three misdemeanor assault involves touching another person with the intent to injure, insult, or provoke. It is the intent that counts, whether or not an injury actually occurred. Penalties upon conviction of this offense may include:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • $550 fine plus surcharges
  • Up to 12 months of probation
  • Anger management classes
  • Community service

Class Two Misdemeanor Assault

Class two misdemeanor assault involves threat of injury. It is charged for intentionally causing another person to reasonably fear bodily harm and carries more serious penalties than class three misdemeanor assault. To prove its case, the prosecution must show that the victim felt a “reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury.” Penalties upon conviction of class two misdemeanor assault may include:

  • Maximum of four months in jail
  • $750 fine plus surcharges
  • Up to two years of probation
  • Anger management classes
  • Community service

Class One Misdemeanor Assault

This is the most serious category of misdemeanor assault. It is charged for knowingly and recklessly causing injury to another person and requires the State to prove that injury actually occurred. The severity of the injury does not matter – it may be as minor as a bruise or as serious as a bleeding wound. If a discernable injury can be shown as proof of contact between the perpetrator and the victim, the offense of assault can be charged as a class one misdemeanor. Penalties for class one misdemeanor assault may include:

  • Up to six months of jail time
  • $2,500 fine plus surcharges
  • Up to three years of probation
  • Anger management classes
  • Community service

Contact Us Today

At Scott David Stewart in Surprise, Arizona, we are committed to fighting for the best possible outcome for our clients. We will find every weakness in the prosecution’s case and use it to strengthen your defense. If you have been charged with assault, the sooner you speak with an experienced attorney, the better. Call us as soon as possible for a free case evaluation.